My Roller Coaster Ride with Amazon

Do you have an Amazon author page? If not and you enjoy roller coasters, I suggest you get one. I count my pulse rate whenever I visit. It’s a great way to get the heart pumping.

There are days when the roller coaster is at the bottom of the incline and my heart plummets.

“I’m doomed,” I whine to my husband who is my greatest fan.

“Check it tomorrow.” We go through this once a week. “It will be better tomorrow.”

The next day I check it again. I know I shouldn’t. It’s barely moved.

“I’m flat lining!” I wail to my greatest fan when he comes home that evening.

“You are not dead,” he laughs. “It’s not going to change that quickly, unless you sell two hundred books in one day.”

I laugh hysterically at such a silly thought. “You’re right. I’ll wait for three days.”

The next morning I’m busy writing, but my fingers feel the itch. Just a quick peak, no, I’m waiting three days, I vow.

Somehow I survive the wait. My heart flutters in my chest. I pull up Amazon and follow the trail to my author’s page. There it is, taunting me, the tab for rank looming on the page. My mouse hovers. What if it’s lower? What if it hasn’t pulled me out of my near death limbo? I move the mouse away.

Maybe I’ll wait another day…who am I kidding? It’s a damn miracle I waited three! My hand creeps back. My finger presses the left button. I close my eyes before a graph appears. I visualize my ranking. I’m in the top one hundred! I burst out laughing at the insanity of my thought.

With my eyes closed, I push away from my desk and go to the kitchen to make tea. It seems cold in the house, so I check the thermostat. Apparently it’s just my lack of blood flow because it’s not far from 80 degrees in my house. The tea kettle whistles. Carrying my tea, I return to my desk. I can’t close my eyes or my tea will spill and scald me.  I try not to look, I really do. And then I buckle up for the ride, the dreaded ride.

My heart surges. That line, the one that brings me pain and joy is climbing. Yippee! My graph is moving! Sigh. I’m not dead. It’s adding another mountain to the drawing of the Alps I’ve got going. I’m on my way to the peak again.

“It turned,” I say to my husband as he walks in the door. No hello, how was your day, just, it turned.

“You knew it would. How many times have we gone through this?” How sweet. He said we. He shares in my pain.

For the next few days, I can check my Amazon page.  I know the routine. It will clamber up the mountain, and bring a smile to my face and a flutter to my heart.  But I know what’s coming. It will reach the peak, and you all know what follows. It takes the downward spiral to the depths of hell. And so it goes my roller coaster ride with Amazon.

To find Stolen Hearts on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Stolen-Hearts-ebook/dp/BooE3LMF71

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorPHudson

http://www.twitter.com/AuthorPHudson

www.wordpress.com/patriciahudson

http://smpauthors.wordpress.com/meet-patricia-hudson/

Books:

Released 2014

Stolen Hearts    

Coming in 2014 by SoulMate Publishing:

The Call

Love on the Double T

Moody Gallery

7 thoughts on “My Roller Coaster Ride with Amazon

  1. OH MY GOD I LOVE THIS POST. Seriously, this is what my life has been since I got published!! Victory–cracking 7,00 rank in amazon sales! Defeat–seeing my book crash to triple digit ranking. I’m glad to know I am not the only one who does this!! And you give me hope it might be possible to see 100. 😉

  2. Mom, I never realized you were such a thrill seeker! Look at you riding your hypothetical rollercoaster just to get a rush or is this some weird, personal form of torture provided by the evil giant empire… dun, dun, dun AMAZON?!?!
    Cute blog!

  3. Your blog post was so perfectly timed!! I just created my author page last week, and today was the first day I checked my rank. It is so not helpful. However, I found I have a new review that made me smile 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Breakfast With Emily | patriciahudson1011

Leave a Reply

